Cape Flying Championship entries

Cape Flying Championship entries


Cape Town – Carry On Alice, Tevez and Trip Tease – third, fourth and fifth behind Alboran Sea and Captain Of All in last year’s race – stand out among the 23 entries for the R1-million Grade 1 Betting World Cape Flying Championship over 1000m at Kenilworth on Saturday 30 January (the same day as the J&B Met).

The race was traditionally run a week before the Met but this time has swapped places with the Investec Cape Derby and the Klawervlei Majorca Stakes.

Interestingly no fewer than 11 of the entries run in the BMW Pinnacle Stakes over the same course and distance this Saturday. The latest penetrometer readings suggest that the going on the sprint course is marginally faster on the inside, giving a slight advantage to those drawn low. However much will depend on which side of the course the fastest horses race.

Kingston Mines, the Mike de Kock-trained winner of last year’s race, looks like going for the double in the Met day’s test of stamina, the R400,000 Grade 2 J&B Jet Stayers. The five-year-old will have top weight but is not the highest merit-rated horse in the race. That is the Joey Ramsden-trained King Of Pain who won the 2014 Rising Sun Gold Challenge and normally runs over shorter trips than this.

Hot Ticket won last year’s Nokia Gold Vase, a 3000m Grade 2 at Greyville on Vodacom Durban July day.

Supplementary entries for both races close next Wednesday (Jan 13) with declarations the following Monday (Jan 18).


6 Asstar Glen Puller 102
15 Belong To Me Johan Janse van Vuuren 105
21 Brutal Force Joey Ramsden 110
2 Captain Alfredo Dean Kannemeyer 98
17 Carry On Alice Sean Tarry 115
11 Champery Eric Sands 95
14 Copper Parade Yvette Bremner 103
4 Cuvee Brut Brett Crawford 103
9 Daring Dave Justin Snaith 105
13 Fly By Night Mike Bass 108
19 Guiness Dennis Drier 111
12 Gulf Storm Brett Crawford 109
18 Harry Lime Justin Snaith 90
5 Line Break Mike Bass 97
3 Mister Matchett Darryl Hodgson 99
1 Olympian Vaughan Marshall 102
22 Talktothestars Coenie de Beer 100
10 Tar Heel Joey Ramsden 103
8 Tevez Mike Bass 112
23 Trip Tease Louis Goosen 114
7 Triptique Dennis Drier 101
16 Victoria Lavelle Justin Snaith 101
20 Zambezi River Sean Tarry 103


20 A Time To Kill Mike Bass 79
5 Arezzo Justin Snaith 83
15 Coltrane (ARG) Joey Ramsden 102
9 Crown Of Gold Tara Laing 100
4 Current Event Justin Snaith 94
17 Desert Swirl Vaughan Marshall 93
13 Forte De Ouro Glen Puller 76
16 Hot Ticket Dean Kannemeyer 104
19 King Of Pain Joey Ramsden 106
6 Kingston Mines (GB) Mike de Kock 102
11 Masterly Justin Snaith 88
3 My World Mike Bass 88
1 Oh So Modus Renate du Plessis 85
12 One Away Brett Crawford 80
8 Ovidio (AUS) Justin Snaith 93
2 Royal Dreamer Mike Bass 96
18 Solid Speed Dean Kannemeyer 100
14 Storm Faerie Mike Bass 76
7 Three Balloons Mike Bass 76
10 Zante Neil Bruss 96

Views: 2646

Comments are closed.