Durban July final field

Durban July final field


Five-time Grade 1-winner Rainbow Bridge on Tuesday afternoon again saw the racing gods smile down on him when the final field and draw for this year’s Vodacom Durban July was unveiled.

This two-time Met-winner, who ran second to Do It Again in the 2019 edition of the July, was selected to jump from gate 1.

If ever a horse has had the luck of the July draw, it must be Rainbow Bridge, having started from gate 3 in 2019 and gate 2 last year.

The six-year-old, trained by Eric Sands, beat last year’s July winner Belgarion in the Met earlier this year over 2000m as well as in the Gold Challenge over 1600m last time out. However, he has never won over further and will aim to break the distance hoodoo come Saturday 3 July.

For trainer Justin Snaith, yesterday’s draw was also a case of déjà vu. For the second year running, only one of his runners were selected to jump from the inside half of the starting stalls, and again it was his least fancied runner.

Two-time July winner Do It Again, who drew gate 18 last year, will start from gate 16 this time round while Belgarion (gate 17 last year) will be starting from gate 11.

Snaith is aiming for a record fourth consecutive July victory and should he achieve this feat, it will probably also give him another champion trainer title.

Snaith currently leads the championship race with R13.55-million in stakes won, followed by Paul Peter on R11.81-million in second place and reigning champion Sean Tarry third with R10.71-million.


The final field and draw for the Grade 1 Vodacom Durban July over 2200m (WFA: 3yrs-2.0kg) (Note that saddle cloth number corresponds with draw.)

#             Horse                                  Wgt       MR         Jockey                                 Trainer

1             Rainbow Bridge                60.0       134        L Ferraris                            Eric Sands  

2             Johnny Hero                      53.0       106        K Matsunyane                   Tyrone Zackey

3             Shah Akbar                        53.0       119        C Habib                               Sean Tarry

4             Expressfromtheus            54.0       122        M van Rensburg               Stuart Pettigrew

5             Crown Towers (AUS)       53.0       117        L Mxothwa                         Justin Snaith

6             Rascallion                           53.0       123        S Veale                                Vaughan Marshall

7             Linebacker                         53.0       124        G van Niekerk                   Vaughan Marshall

8             Sovereign Spirit                54.0       122        K de Melo                          Candice Bass-Robinson

9             Cirillo                                   53.0       120        L Hewitson                         Sean Tarry

10           She’s A Keeper                  52.0       96           W Kennedy                        Gareth van Zyl

11           Belgarion                            58.0       130        S Khumalo                          Justin Snaith

12           Nexus                                  53.0       117        C Zackey                             Justin Snaith

13           Running Brave                  52.5       119        G Cheyne                                Fanie Bronkhorst

14           Got The Greenlight          55.0       124        M Yeni                                Joe Soma

15           Matterhorn                        53.0       101        S Moodley                          Alyson Wright

16           Do It Again                         57.5       129        R Fourie                              Justin Snaith

17           Tristful                                53.0       113        C Murray                            Tony Rivalland

18           Kommetdieding                53.0       122        G Lerena                             H/M Crawford/Rix

Reserve Runners

19           Silver Host                         53.0       110        Reserve 1                           Justin Snaith

20           Shango                                53.0       111        Reserve 2                           Sean Tarry

Views: 2946

Comments are closed.